Women’s World T20: West Indies beats Australia for maiden title


West Indies, West Indies Women,West Indies Women's cricket team, T20 World Cup, Women;s T20 World Cup, Australia

The West Indies women’s cricket team beat Australia by eight wickets in the final at the Eden Gardens on Sunday.

West Indies women’s cricket team put a dominant show with the bat. Hayley Matthews and Stafanie Taylor scored 66 and 59 respectively while chasing a decent total of Australia’s 148/5.

This is the first time West Indies women’s cricket team won the T20 World Cup Trophy.

Here is the scorecard of women’s T20 World Cup final played between Australia and West Indies at the Eden Gardens on April 3.

Australia Women:
Alyssa Healy c and b Matthews 4
Elyse Villani c Taylor b Dottin 52
Meg Lanning lbw b Mohammed 52
Ellyse Perry b Dottin 28
Alex Blackwell not out 3
Erin Osborne run out 0
Jess Jonassen not out 0
Extras (b 4, lb 2, w 3) 9
Total (five wickets in 20 overs) 148

Fall of wickets 1-15 (Healy, 1.6 overs), 2-92 (Villani, 11.6), 3-134 (Lanning, 17.4), 4-147 (Perry, 19.4), 5-147 (Osborne, 19.5)

Shamilia Connell 2-0-15-0
Hayley Matthews 2-0-13-1
Stafania Taylor 3-0-26-0
Deandra Dottin 4-0-33-2
Asy Fletcher 1-0-9-0
Anisa Mohammed 4-0-19-1
Shaquana Quintyne 4-0-27-0

West Indies Women: (Target: 149 runs)
Hayley Matthews c Blackwell b Beams 66
Stafanie Taylor c Jonassen b Farrell 59
Deandra Dottin not out 18
Britney Cooper not out 3
Extras (lb 2, w 1) 3
Total (two wickets in 19.3 overs) 149

Jess Jonassen 4-0-26-0
Ellyse Perry 3.3-0-27-0
Megan Schutt 3-0-26-0
Rena Farrell 4-0-35-1
Kristen Beans 4-0-27-1
Erin Osborne 1-0-6-0

Toss – Australia Women, who chose to bat
Series – West Indies Women won the 2015/16 Women’s World T20
Umpires – Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and RK Illingworth (England)
TV umpire – N.J. Llong (England)
Match referee – A.J. Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire – S. Ravi