West Indies, Aaron Finch tops the latest T20I cricket ranking

Latest T20 Cricket Ranking for January 2016 has been announced by ICC, West Indies moves to No.1 position and Aaron Finch tops in Batting.


After New Zealand defeating Sri Lanka in recent T20I Series, West Indies back to No.1 Position. Defending Champions Sri Lanka downs to No.3 ranking followed with England and South Africa in respective 4th and 5th position.

The first match witnessed a close finish while second game was one-sided match in favour of New Zealand team. New Zealand moved into T20I’s with more confidence. In the second T20I match, Black Caps opener Martin Guptill hit the fastest 50 from 19 balls in 5th over for New Zealand in T20Is and later few over, this record was broken by his team mate Colin Munro. Colin Munro thrashed the Sri Lankan’s bowling and smashed 50 off just 14 balls.


The Australian dashing opener Aaron Finch overtakes Indian superstar Virat Kohli into No.1 place in the T20I rankings. Since then Kohli had jumped into No.1 position but he forfelted the title after a poor showing against the South Africa on last October. Finch won’t play another T20I match for Australia until Australia Day, when he and Kohli will come face to face as India plays Australia in January.

In T20I Rankings for Bowlers, West Indies spinners Sunil Narine and Samuel Badree tops in the table.

ICC T20I Team Ranking:

1. West Indies – 2249 Points
2. Australia – 2006 Points
3. Sri Lanka – 2242 Points
4. England – 2330 Points
5. South Africa – 2879 Points
6. New Zealand – 2393 Points
7. Pakistan – 3085 Points
8. India – 1537 Points
9. Afghanistan – 1442 Points
10. Bangladesh – 831 Points

ICC T20I Batsman Ranking:

1. Aaron Finch (Australia)
2. Virat Kohli (India)
3. Alex Hales (England)
4. Faf du Plessis (South Africa)
5. Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
6. Kusal Perara (Sri Lanka)
7. Chris Gayle (West Indies)
8. Eoin Morgan (England)
9. Tillekeratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
10. Martin Guptill (New Zealand)

ICC T20I Bowler Ranking:

1. Sunil Narine (West Indies)
2. Samuel Badree (West Indies)
3. Sachithra Senanayake (Sri Lanka)
4. Lasith Maling (Sri Lanka)
5. Ravi Ashwin (India)
6. Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
7. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
8. Nathan McCullum (New Zealand)
9. Imran Tahir (South Africa)
10. Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka)