ICC declares World T20 XI 2016

Cricket, World XI, World T20 XI, ICC World T20 XI 2016, Jason Roy, Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Shane Watson, Andre Russell, Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Samuel Badree, Ashish Nehra, Mustafizur Rahman

Indian star Virat Kohli was named captain of the ICC World T20 XI, which also features another Indian player Ashish Nehra.

Kohli was awarded Man of the Tournament for his brilliant form in this tournament. He has scored 273 runs at an huge average of 136.50 with a strike-rae of 146.77. He smashed three 50+ runs in this tournament.

Ashish Nehra gave brilliant start to India with the ball, he took early wickets in almost every match. He took only five wicket but was economical in all five games.

“Although I’m disappointed that we were not able to make it through to the final and win the ICC World Twenty20 title on home soil, I’m proud to be named player of the tournament,” Kohli said in a statement released by the BCCI’s official website.

“As a team, we have all loved the experience of playing in this event in front of big, passionate home crowds and I’m pleased the tournament in India has been successfully staged.

And I’d like to add my congratulations to the West Indies men’s and women’s squads for their successes,” he added.

Besides two Indians, the men’s team also comprised four players from England, two from the West Indies and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa. The 12th man was pacer Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh. The team did not feature any Pakistani player.

Men’s World T20 XI – Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India), — Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).