Champions Trophy, Champions Trophy Winners, Champions Trophy Winners list, Champions Trophy Winnings teams, Cricket, India, Australia

The ICC Champions Trophy is organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was first invented as ICC Knock Out Tournament, then in 2002, they changed the name as Champions Trophy. Since 2009, the tournament has only involved the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months prior to the tournament.

In the Inaugural edition of Champions Trophy, South Africa beat West India by 4 wickets in the final to seal the victory. In the Champions Trophy 2013, India beat England by just 5 runs to win the second Champions Trophy. India and Australia are the most successful teams (both team won twice) in the Champions Trophy history. Check out below the list of Winners of ICC champions trophy from the 1998 to 2017.

Year Winner Runner-up Final Result Host
1998 South Africa West Indies South Africa won by 4 wickets Bangladesh
2000 New Zealand India New Zealand won by 4 wickets Kenya
2002 India, Sri-Lanka Sri Lanka and India named joint winners Sri Lanka
2004 West Indies England West Indies won by 2 wickets England
2006 Australia West Indies Australia won by 8 wickets India
2009 Australia New Zealand Australia won by 6 wickets South Africa
2013 India England India won by 5 runs England
2017 Pakistan India Pakistan won by 180 runs England

Related: Top 5 Run Scorers in the Champions Trophy Tournament


Leave A Reply