Big Decision On IPL Player Retention Policy

Cricket, IPL, IPL Auction, IPL Auction 2017, IPL Auction 2017 Date, IPL Auction 2017 Time, IPL Auction 2017 Venue, IPL Auction 2017 Players list, IPL Auction 2017 Players

Ahead of the Indian Premier League 2018, a team can retain a maximum of five players through a combination of retention and RTM cards, confirmed by IPL Governing Council on December 6 (Wednesday).

After the two-year suspension, Chennai Super Kings and Rojasthan Royals will play the 11th season of Indian Premier League. Chennai and Rojasthan franchise can retain players from their 2015 squad, who were part of RPS and GL squads in IPL 2017. So that, the foreign stars like Ben Stokes and Jason Roy will go back in the IPL action as they have not played for either CSK and RR in 2015 season.

Out of five players that a team could buy back

– Maximum number of 3 Capped Indian players.
– Maximum number of 2 Overseas players.
– Maximum number of 2 Uncapped Indian players.

A team can buy maximum of 25 players (maximum eight overseas cricketers) and minimum of 18 players.

Teams’ salary caps for the next three years:

2018 – INR 80 Crore
2019 – INR 82 Crore
2020 – INR 85 Crore

The minimum spend will be 75 per cent of the salary cap for each season. The maximum cap for uncapped cricketers will be Rs 40 lakh.

Chennai and Rojasthan franchise were suspended for the two years for IPL spot-fixing. Ms Dhoni played for Pune team in IPL 9 and IPL 10 while Suresh Raina captained Gujarat Lions for the 9th and 10th season of IPL. The next season of IPL is expected to be even bigger with the return of IPL champions like CSK and RR. The player auctions for the next edition is tentatively scheduled to be held in February.