Australia announces Test squad for South Africa series

Cricket, News, Australia, Australia Test Squad, South Africa, Joe Minnie

Cricket Australia announced the 12-member squad for the first two matches of the Commonwealth Bank Test series against South Africa on Oct 28. They named uncapped fast bowler Joe Mennie as the replacement for Jackson Bird.

Another right-arm fast bowler Peter Siddle, who was excluded from the squad due to ankle and back issues, is also made a retun in the squad. Australia has been named four fast bowlers in the squad – Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Siddle and Jackson Bird.

National Selection Panel Chairman Rod Marsh announced the squad at the WACA ground and he said,“Joe bowls a great length at a lively pace and his form in first-class cricket has been terrific in the last 12 months. He also impressed us during the recent Australia A Series in Queensland. He was the highest wicket-taker in the Sheffield Shield last season and is very handy with the bat.”

Left-handed Shaun Marsh also back to the squad after recovering from the hamstring injury and will open the innings with the vice-captain David Warner.

Menniew, who had a ODI figures of 82/0 and 49/3 in the last month’s tour of South Africa, has been included in the Test squad. Bird, who picked up 5 wickets for just 59 runs in his last Test against New Zealand in February, omitted from the Test squad.

Australia squad for the first two Commonwealth Bank Test series: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Peter Nevill, Peter Siddle, Mitch Starc, Adam Voges