Ambati Rayudu and Unmukt Chand to lead India ‘A’ and ‘B’ in Deodhar Trophy

The India ‘A’ and India ‘B’ teams will take on Gujaraj in the 50-over Deodhar Trophy between January 24 to January 28. Two sides consisting best performers from the 2015/16 domestic season. Gujaraj will be the third team in the historic event which is being played after one year.



Ambati Rayudu will lead India ‘A’ and Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand has been named as captain of India ‘B’. Parthiv Patel will lead the Gujarat. These two teams traditionally the knockout competition was played on an annual basis among the 5 zonal teams.

Chatterjee scored 4 hundreds this season and he said, “I am happy but do not want to think too much about this India A call-up. My job is to score runs and I know I will be rewarded. I also think I would not need time to adapt as we have just played Hazare Trophy and now we are playing Mushtaq Ali T20. So I am in limited overs mode”.

India ‘A’ has Amit Mishra, Naman Ohja, Parvez Rasool and Varun Aaron. India ‘B’ has young players like Shreyas Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Karn Sharma and Mayank Agarwal. They will try to prove them for the upcoming tournaments like Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup.

Some new players has been added in the two squads like Sudip Chatterjee from Bengal, who scored 4 centuries this season and Krishna Das from Assam, this season’s breakthrough pace bowler.


India’A’: Murali Vijay, Jalaj Saxena, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu (C), Kedar Jadhav, Naman Ojha, Parvez Rasool, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddharth Kaul, Sreenath Aravind, Varun Aaron, Krishna Das, Sudip Chatterjee, Faiz Fazal

India ‘B’: Unmukt Chand (C), Mayank Agarwal, Baba Aparajith, Shreyas Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Dinesh Karthik, Stuart Binny, Karn Sharma, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Nathu Singh, Shardul Thakur, Pawan Negi, Sachin Baby, Suryakumar Yadav.